Nick Murphy releases short film ‘Missing Link’.

The film, co-written and directed by Murphy, features music from his 2017 EP of the same name.

Nick Murphy has returned with the short film ‘Missing Link’, which was co-written and directed by Murphy and fellow Australian musician/filmmaker Johann Rashid. The Melbourne singer/songwriter/producer provided an introduction to the video on Facebook, stating “2017 was a year of risk and exploration. To say thank you, here is a film I made with my good friend Johann Rashid.”  

The 8-minute intense and beautifully shot video features several songs from Murphy’s ‘Missing Link EP’ from last year, including ‘Your Time’, his collaboration with Haitian-Canadian hot-shot producer KAYTRANADA. This EP served as his first release under his given name, after relinquishing the ‘Chet Faker’ alias. Murphy described the EP as “a bridge between what’s out and what’s coming”, teasing new sounds in his upcoming music that could potentially be vastly different from the electronic neo-soul he delivered under his stage name.  

Under the ‘Chet Faker’ name, Murphy released the album ‘Built on Glass’ to widespread critical acclaim in 2014, earning him three ARIA awards, as well as three spots in the top 10 of Triple J’s Hottest 100 (including #1 for ‘Talk is Cheap’). The album also saw him gaining international recognition, with Murphy performing the track ‘Gold’ (which has amassed over 100 million YouTube views) on ‘Jimmy Kimmel Live’ and ‘The Ellen DeGeneres Show’. Murphy debuted his new live show last year, performing three sold out shows at the Sydney Opera House as part of Vivid LIVE.

Murphy is set to return to Australia and New Zealand next month with U.S. band LCD Soundsystem to perform five shows with fellow ‘Murphy’ James Murphy.

‘Missing Link EP’ by Nick Murphy is out now.